Pax Christi Award Recipients

As the highest honor awarded by Saint John’s, the Pax Christi Award recognizes those who have devoted themselves to God by working in the tradition of Benedictine monasticism to serve others and to build a heritage of faith in the world.


2023: Donald Jackson, Artistic Director and Principal Illuminator, and the team of calligraphers and artists responsible for writing and illuminating The Saint John’s Bible
2017: Marty Haugen, liturgical composer, workshop presenter, performing and recording artist, and author
  Father Michael Joncas, artist-in-residence and a fellow in the Center for Catholic Studies at the University of St. Thomas
David Haas, director of The Emmaus Center for Music, Prayer and Ministry, and animator for the Cretin-Derham Hall Taize Prayer Community in Saint Paul [rescinded in 2020]
2013: Richard Frechette, priest, physician and missionary with Nuestros Pequeños Hermanos (NPH), also called Our Little Brothers and Sisters
2010:  John Paul Lederach, professor of international peacebuilding at the University of Notre Dame
2009:  Rev. John P. Foley, SJ, executive chairman of the Cristo Rey Network
  His Eminence Walter Cardinal Kasper, President of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity
2008:  Most Reverend Elias Chacour, Archbishop of Akka, Haifa, Nazareth and Galilee
2007:  Archbishop Michael Louis Fitzgerald, M. Afr. 
2006:  Most Reverend Harry J. Flynn
  Abbot Primate Notker Wolf, OSB
His Holiness Aram I, Catholicos of the Great House of Cilicia of the Armenian Apostolic Church
2005:  Doctor Martin E. Marty
His Beatitude Ignatius IV Hazim 
2004: Reverend John “Jack” Everett Davis
2003:  Doctor John R. Page
2002:  Most Reverend John Kinney
2001:  Mr. Douglas A. Johnson
2000:  Most Reverend Samuel Ruiz Garcia
1998:   Mr. Richard T. Proulx
1997:   Presiding Bishop Emeritus David W. Preus
Abbot Placid Reitmeier, O.S.B.
1996:   His Eminence Joseph Cardinal Bernardin
1995:   Ms. Mary Jo Copeland
1994:   Ms. Amy Grant
1993:   Reverend Baldwin Dworschak, O.S.B.
1992:   Abbot Primate Jerome Theisen, O.S.B.
1990:   Reverend Leonard Eugene Boyle, O.P.
Mr. Edward Simeon Skillin
Mr. Harry C. Piper, Jr.
1987:   Doctor Albert Cook Outler
1986:   Sister Emmanuel Renner, O.S.B.
1985:   Reverend Robert Sperry Bilheimer
1984:   Reverend Kilian McDonnell, O.S.B.
1983:   Most Reverend John R. Roach
1982:   Doctor Gordon Charles Zahn
1981:   Abbot Dom Basilio Penido, O.S.B.
1978:   Most Reverend James Steven Rausch
1977:   Most Reverend Jean Jadot
1976:   Most Reverend David J. Du Plessis
1975:   Most Reverend Dr. Per Lonning
His Eminence Leo Josef Cardinal Suenens
1974:   Most Reverend Basil Christopher Butler
1973:   Reverend Colman J. Barry, O.S.B.
His Holiness Abuna Theophilos
1971:   Doctor Dana L. Farnsworth, M.D.
Right Reverend Monsignor George C. Higgins
1970:   Most Reverend Ernest L. Unterkoefler
Reverend Andrew J. Young
1969:   His Eminence George Bernard Cardinal Flahiff
Right Honorable Lord Caradon
1968:   Most Reverend Johannes G. M. Willebrands
Reverend Eugene Carson Blake
1967:   Most Reverend John F. Dearden
Lady Barbara Ward Jackson
1966:   Most Reverend Paul J. Hallinan
Doctor Jaroslav J. Pelikan
1965:   Honorable George N. Shuster
Reverend John Courtney Murray, S.J.
1964:   Reverend Frederick R. McManus
Honorable Eugene J. McCarthy
1963:   Honorable Ignatius A. O’Shaughnessy
Most Reverend Peter W. Bartholome


The Pax Christi Award was not presented in 1972, 1979-80, 1988-89, 1991, 1999, 2011-12, 2014-16 and 2018-23.