Skip to content

CSB and SJU chapter of Tri-Alpha inducts first class of national honor society students

The College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University chapter of Tri-Alpha, the national honor society for first-generation college students, held its first induction ceremony on Sunday, April 16, at the Quad on the SJU campus. More than 30 students, faculty/staff and alumni were inducted. Dr. Carol Bruess was the guest speaker.

Theresa Anderson, director of the Academic Skill Center, is one of two co-advisors to the chapter.

“In establishing the CSB and SJU chapter of Tri-Alpha, we are able to call out the outsized achievements of first-generation students who are breaking new ground in their families, showing up for themselves in brave ways by asking questions, accessing resources, and learning the culture of college,” she said. “It was a great honor to recognize the inaugural student, faculty/staff, and honorary inductees to the Tri-Alpha honor society.”

Malik Stewart, director of the Multicultural Center, is the other co-advisor.

“I’m very proud of the student leaders that made this possible,” he added. “This is the start of something that will transform the first-generation student experience at CSB and SJU.”

Criteria for induction include being a first-generation student, sophomore status or having completed at least 30 credit hours, and a 3.2 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale. Here is a list of the 2023 inductees into Tri-Alpha at the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University, listed alphabetically: 


Jazmin Acuna – Big Lake, Minnesota; Biochemistry

Dana Alcala – Riverton, Utah; Communication

Oyuky Arragon-Flores – Forest Lake Minnesota; Nursing

Areli De Rosas-Lazaro – Albert Lea, Minnesota; Psychology/Mathematics

Teniesha Ferguson – Nassau, The Bahamas; Biochemistry

Edith Gomez – Buffalo, Minnesota; Hispanic Studies/Psychology

Ibett Gomez – Buffalo, Minnesota; Global Business Leadership

Amelia Kahlhamer – Avon, Minnesota; English/Sociology

Summer Langva – Big Lake, Minnesota; Communication/Art

Arlette Lazaro – Faribault, Minnesota; Accounting

Ernesto Lazaro – Medford, Minnesota; Global Business Leadership

Suree Lor – St. Paul, Minnesota; Biology

Katelynn Meier – Grantsburg, Wisconsin; Economics/Hispanic Studies

Liam Miller – Nassau, The Bahamas; Economics

Clair Moonen – Delano, Minnesota; Political Science

Gabriela Perez Sanchez – Cold Spring, Minnesota; Psychology

Kennedy Pexa – New Germany, Minnesota; Biochemistry/Pre-Med

Jaden Philippi – Cold Spring, Minnesota; Biology

Durran Thompson – Nassau, The Bahamas; Accounting

Alexandria Watkins – Nassau, The Bahamas; Computer Science

Elise Yeager – Clearwater, Minnesota; Mathematics


Theresa Anderson – Study Center

Laura Hammond – Experience & Professional Development

Lisa Miller – Alumni Relations

Brad Neary – Heritage Program

Malik Stewart – Multicultural Center

Linda Tennison – Psychology

Lucas Vetsch – Experience & Professional Development


Taja Longley – Nassau, The Bahamas; Communication

Jesus Medina – Immokalee, Florida; Communication

Felicia Monteiro – Mumbai, India; Global Business Leadership

Sydney Robinson – Multicultural Center

Tri Alpha induction

Dr. Carol Bruess (left), who was the keynote speaker at the inaugural induction of the CSB and SJU chapter of Tri-Alpha, joined Jesus Medina Jr. ‘25, Taja Longley ’23 and Jesus Segovia ’24 at the event. The three students are the coordinators for the First-Generation Organization.