Skip to content
Campus & Community

Campus Compact honors two CSB and SJU recent alums, four organizations for civic impact

Two individuals and four organizations that made an impact in our local community received 2022 Presidents’ Awards from Iowa and Minnesota Campus Compact, a coalition of colleges and universities committed to civic engagement and service learning.

Recent CSB graduate Claire Olson ’22 and SJU graduate Nathan Meyer ’22 received Presidents’ Student Leadership Awards.

Claire Olson, CSB – Olson graduated with majors in political science and education studies. During her time as a student, Olson was involved in the Bonner Leader Program, was a summer leadership fellow interning with Minnesota Equity Alliance and worked as a deputy campaign manager for Aric Putnum’s campaign for the Minnesota Senate. She is a passionate advocate who cares deeply about education equity and civic engagement. She currently works as a campaign manager for the DFL.

Nathan Meyer, SJU – This year Nathan Meyer has led with goals of improved equity, justice and student visibility. Through his work with the Bonner Leader Program, he helped to improve student engagement at on-campus events and protests. Additionally, he holds positions as a member of the Student Athletic Advisory Council, a student representative for the communication department and a spot on the roster of the SJU cross country and track and field teams.

The Presidents’ Student Leadership Awards recognizes an individual student or a student organization that models a deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidenced by initiative, innovative and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues, effective community building, and integration of civic engagement into the college experience, according to the compact.

Organizations recognized for civic engagement and community partnerships

The CSB+SJU Multicultural Center (nominated by CSB) and the Honors Scholars for Community and Collaborative Leadership (nominated by SJU) received Presidents’ Civic Engagement Awards.

Meanwhile, the Great River Children’s Museum (nominated by CSB) and the St. Cloud Rotary Richard C. Wilson Community Outpost (nominated by SJU) received Presidents’ Community Partner Awards.

2022 Presidents’ Civic Engagement Awards: The compact recognizes a member of the faculty, administration or staff or for a group (advisory committee, task force, project team) that has significantly advanced their campus’ distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’ civic and community engagement and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement.

CSB winner: CSB+SJU Multicultural Center – The Multicultural Center at CSB and SJU empowers students to navigate difference and new environments as an essential part of a liberal arts education. Through collaborative partnerships, the Multicultural Center promotes diversity and inclusion campus-wide and engages students through a variety of educational and social programs. The student leadership team ensures that student voices, perspectives, and experiences drive community-wide programming.

SJU winner: Honors Scholars for Community and Collaborative Leadership – Honors Scholars transform knowledge into action. They belong to a supportive, 60-person cohort that engages with the campus and local community. They define success not as “getting ahead” but as discovering their unique gifts, paths and destinies – and helping others to do the same. Through this experience, students are challenged to apply concepts, methods, theories and skills to complex social issues. They engage in community-based research and are mentored by a select group of faculty.

2022 Presidents’ Community Partner Award: This award recognizes a community-based partner or organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community in meaningful and measurable ways and has engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with the college or university, thus enriching educational as well as community outcomes, according to the compact.

CSB winner: Great River Children’s Museum – Great River Children’s Museum is an emerging children’s museum serving all children and families of Central Minnesota. The partnership with CSB and SJU and other area institutions of higher learning is essential to its efforts to create opportunities for informal learning through play. With volunteer support from CSB and SJU students, the museum has been able to serve more children in this stage of its development. As it continues to grow, so too will the relationship between the museum and the students.

SJU winner: St. Cloud Rotary Richard C. Wilson Community Outpost – The St. Cloud Rotary Richard C. Wilson Community Outpost, known as the COP House, is a community initiative of the St. Cloud Police Department, Greater St. Cloud Public Safety Foundation and numerous service organizations and companies. The house serves as a community connecting space where residents can access needed health, wellness, education, youth recreation and empowerment and other social services. The COP House partners with CSB and SJU students to mentor area youth through the College Buddies program.

This year, 69 honorees were selected from 57 colleges and universities across the two states. Iowa & Minnesota Campus Compact is a network of 57 colleges and universities committed to strengthening the capacity for civic engagement and campus-community partnership in the service of fulfilling the public purposes at the heart of higher education.

The compact recognizes students, campus groups and community partners that positively impact the community and have built a sustained relationship with the college or university.

Claire Olson

Claire Olson ’22

Nathan Meyer

Nathan Meyer ’22