New members named to Boards of Trustees for Saint Ben's and Saint John's

Academics Campus & Community

July 5, 2023

Seven new members (three voting and four non-voting) were named to the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University Boards of Trustees, effective on July 1.

Complete bios of all of the board members can be found on the Boards of Trustees webpage.

New Trustees serving for a three-year term (voting):

Sister Joan Lescinski, CSJ

Lescinski was the 13th president of St. Ambrose University in Davenport, Iowa. She was the first woman to lead the university in its history, taking office in the summer of 2007 and retiring after 14 years in August of 2021.

Fr. William (Bill) Lies ’84, CSC

Lies, a 1984 SJU graduate, was elected Provincial Superior for the Congregation of Holy Cross, United States Province of Priests and Brothers, on June 14, 2018. As Provincial Superior, Fr. Lies oversees the work and welfare of the over 500 priests, brothers, and seminarians in the U.S. Province. Most recently, Lies was vice president for mission engagement and church affairs at the University of Notre Dame, a role he began in March of 2012.

Edwin Torres ’16

Torres, a 2016 SJU graduate, is an accomplished political strategist with a proven track record in successful electoral and issue campaigns spanning local, state and national levels. Presently, Torres serves as the vice president of public affairs at NewPublica, LLC where his strategic expertise is instrumental in shaping effective political initiatives. 

Alumnae/i Trustee representatives – chairs of the Alumnae or Alumni Associations (non-voting):

Rochelle Taus Dumdie ’13

Taus Dumdie, a 2013 CSB graduate, currently serves as benefits and compliance manager at Be the Match, an organization dedicated to saving lives and democratizing cell therapy, with equal outcomes for all. She has served as a member on the CSB Alumnae Board since 2017 and is president for a two-year term.

Bill Olson ’91

Olson, a 1991 SJU graduate, currently serves as owner/consultant with Five-O Corp, Inc. At Five-O Corp, Olson focuses on enterprise resource planning and human capital management consulting with a focus on strategic implementations and high-value operational support needs. He has served as a member on the SJU Alumni Association since 2017 and was recently elected president for a two-year term.

Student Trustee representatives (non-voting):

Kenedi-Alexis Mullings ’24

Mullings is a senior psychology major from The Bahamas with a double minor in fine arts and English writing. She has previously served on the CSB Student Senate as upper-class representative. Mullings has served two years as an RA in the first-year residence housing. She currently serves as treasurer for the Psychology Club, and as a member of the new Cognitive Neuroscience EEG Lab Research Team.    

Evan Mattson ’24

Mattson is a senior political science major from Aurora, Minnesota, with a minor in history. This fall, he will begin his fourth year on the SJU Student Senate. Mattson is also involved with the Saint John’s Men’s Chorus, College Democrats Club, International Affairs Club and serves as an RA in Tommy Hall.

Share this:

Joan Lescinski

Sister Joan Lescinski, CSJ

Fr. William Lies

Fr. William Lies, CSC

Edwin Torres

Edwin Torres '16

Rochelle Taus Dumdie

Rochelle Taus Dumdie '13

Bill Olson

Bill Olson '91

Kenedi-Alexis Mullings

Kenedi-Alexis Mullings '24

Evan Mattson

Evan Mattson '24