Please update your web browser or disable Compatibility View.

About the Center


Create social value and economic opportunity by actively building alliances between students as future entrepreneurs, faculty and experienced entrepreneurs in service to communities, organizations and individuals. The Center will stimulate, support and expand business and social entrepreneurship.


Entrepreneurship is a process through which individuals and groups pursue solutions to needs, problems, or challenges, by seizing opportunities, leveraging resources, and initiating change that creates value. The promoted solution usually includes the introduction of new ideas, goals, services or practices that require innovation and risk to implement. Entrepreneurs apply innovation, creativity, vision, passion, and leadership of others to address the challenge before them. Social value focused entrepreneurship emphasizes social innovation through entrepreneurial solutions. These actions often blur the traditional boundaries between the public, private and non-profit sectors, and emphasize hybrid models of for-profit and nonprofit activities.


To be a recognized leader in transforming those with entrepreneurial spirit into leaders of successful social value creating enterprises in both not for profit and for profit arenas.

Meet the McNeely Center Director

Maxwell has more than 40 years of experience as an entrepreneur, executive and turnaround management specialist in both the business and non-profit sectors. He is a 1966 graduate of Saint John's University with a degree in philosophy, and holds a juris doctor degree from Northwestern University School of Law.

Maxwell has held management positions including board chairman, director, chief executive officer, chief financial officer, vice president and general counsel. He has served as executive director of two membership associations and one charitable organization. Maxwell has started, bought or led 20 businesses and non-profits. The areas he has worked in include manufacturing, insurance, personnel placement, education, business services, food, medical, legal, membership and charitable services. These organizations are located throughout the United States, Europe and the Pacific Rim.

In addition to his impressive record and experience as an entrepreneur, Pat is both the product of, and an advocate for, the liberal arts. He has the ideal pedigree to direct an entrepreneurship center at a liberal arts college," said Michael Hemesath, president of Saint John's University. Maxwell has served on the Saint John's National Alumni Board and the Saint John's Board of Regents. He currently serves on the Board of Overseers of the Saint John's School of Theology•Seminary. Maxwell has also been very active with the McNeely Center. He is currently on the McNeely Center Advisory Committee, and for the past two years he has served as the executive-in-residence for the McNeely Center, mentoring and assisting students. "Under Pat's leadership, I am confident that the McNeely Center will continue to focus on our students and their interests," said Mary Dana Hinton, president of the College of Saint Benedict, "and work to provide programming for alumnae and alumni."

Founded in 2004 by St. Paul, Minnesota, business and civic leader the late Donald McNeely, the Donald McNeely Center for Entrepreneurship is an education resource that provides classes, coaching and assistance to entrepreneurs. It builds relationships among and between CSB/SJU students, faculty, alumnae/i and community members to create and strengthen the entrepreneurial spirit. Its mission is to create social value and economic opportunity by actively building alliances between students as future entrepreneurs, faculty and experienced entrepreneurs in service to communities, organizations and individuals.

Welcome Pat!

Past Director- 2004-2014

Terri Barreiro

Terri Barreiro was the first Director of the Donald McNeely Center for Entrepreneurship at Saint John's University and the College of Saint Benedict in Central Minnesota which opened in 2004.  The Center provides services to students, faculty, alumni and local community leaders with entrepreneurial interests. She coaches entrepreneurial students and alumni, teaches entrepreneurship topics and manages all major events of the Center. She also is adjunct faculty at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs teaching Philanthropy and Social Entrepreneurship.  She has over 30 years of experience working in the nonprofit and philanthropic communities in the Twin Cities including leadership of the Minneapolis and Greater Twin Cities United Ways and the Dayton Hudson Corporate Foundation. In addition to her work at the McNeely Center, Terri sits on the Board of the Cargill Foundation. She also serves as a consultant with a long list of past clients including: United Ways in Canada, Minnesota Council on Foundations, national associations of nonprofits and educators, and local nonprofits helping with strategic planning and organizational improvement projects. Barreiro received her BA in Psychology, a BA Cum Laude in Spanish and an MBA from the University of Minnesota.

Related Links