25 CSB students accepted into elite Catholic honor society


April 9, 2021

Twenty-five students from the College of Saint Benedict were accepted for induction into the Omega Chapter of Delta Epsilon Sigma (DES) this academic year.

This year’s induction ceremony was a small, private gathering on Friday, April 9, including the inductees, CSB Interim President Laurie Hamen, CSB/SJU Provost Richard Ice, CSB/SJU Academic Dean Barb May, and Margrette Newhouse, chair of the DES selection committee.

Select CSB juniors and seniors are inducted into DES each year based on a series of criteria. Students must maintain a 3.9 grade-point average or higher on a 4.0 scale, while also being involved in the community through volunteer and extracurricular activities.

DES is a national Catholic Honor Society with the purpose of recognizing academic accomplishments, dedication to intellectual activity and service to others. CSB has been a member of DES since its beginning in 1940.

Ten seniors and 15 juniors were inducted this year. Here are the inductees, listed by class and alphabetically:



Charlotte Rose Bjorn Frisk, child of Edward and Sara Frisk of Broomfield, Colorado. Frisk is an environmental studies and peace studies major.


Abigail Braun, child of Ronald and Wendy Braun of Apple Valley, Minnesota. Braun is a nursing major.


Anna Hammer, child of Jeff and Amy Hammer of Lakeville, Minnesota. Hammer is a nursing major.


Catherine Jaroszewski, child of James and Susan Jaroszewski of Frazee, Minnesota. Jaroszewski is a music major.

Margaret Kobs

Margaret Kobs, child of Kenneth Kobs and Kathryn Clayton of Maple Grove, Minnesota. Kobs is a biology major.

Jane Koll

Jane Koll, child of Daniel and Colleen Koll of Winona, Minnesota. Koll is an environmental studies major.

Isabella Lovinger

Isabella Lovinger, child of Robert and Angela Lovinger of Savage, Minnesota. Lovinger is a communication major.

Sarah Neve

Sarah Neve, child of David and Jesse Neve of Minnetrista, Minnesota. Neve is a creative writing major.

Katherine Wagner

Katherine Wagner, child of Mark and Yvonne Wagner, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. Wagner is an English major.

Aubrey Walter

Aubrey Walter, child of Kevin and Beth Walter of Billings, Montana. Walter is a global business leadership major.


Elizabeth Botz

Elizabeth Botz, child of Jeff and Mary Botz of St. Joseph, Minnesota. Botz is a psychology major.

Sarah Broghammer

Sarah Broghammer, child of Matt and Laurie Broghammer of Winona, Minnesota. Broghammer is an English and communication major.

Julia Buntrock

Julia Buntrock, child of James and Martha Buntrock of Rochester, Minnesota. Buntrock is a biology major.

Olivia Hoff

Olivia Hoff, child of Gary and Sue Hoff of Rushford, Minnesota. Hoff is a biology major.

Kennedy Kehr

Kennedy Kehr, child of Maria Kehr of Coon Rapids, Minnesota. Kehr is an elementary education major.

Brianna Kreft

Brianna Kreft, child of John and Kari Kreft of Elbow Lake, Minnesota. Kreft is a political science major.

Rachel Leen

Rachel Leen, child of Donald and Cindy Leen of Sauk Rapids, Minnesota. Leen is an environmental studies major.

Gabriella Lott

Gabriella Lott, child of Kevin and Laura Lott of Duluth, Minnesota. Lott is a biochemistry major.

Jaiden McCollum

Jaiden McCollum, child of Jason and Kim McCollum of Park Rapids, Minnesota. McCollum is an accounting major.

Caitlin O’Toole

Caitlin O’Toole, child of Steve and Jill O’Toole of Eden Prairie, Minnesota. O’Toole is a nursing major.

Tracy Renier

Tracy Renier, child of Michael and Elizabeth Renier of Plymouth, Minnesota. Renier is an economics major.

Grace Savard

Grace Savard, child of Thomas and Lynda Savard of Arden Hills, Minnesota. Savard is a biology and peace studies major.

Kate Schiltz

Kate Schiltz, child of Patrick and Elizabeth Schiltz of Minnetonka, Minnesota. Schiltz is a Hispanic studies and English major.

Olivia Solano

Olivia Solano, child of Adam and Jennifer Solano of Grayslake, Illinois. Solano is a French and nutrition major.

Claire Westby

Claire Westby, child of Todd and Heidi Westby of Lake Elmo, Minnesota. Westby is a biology major.

Share this:
DES logo
DES is a national Catholic Honor Society with the purpose of recognizing academic accomplishments, dedication to intellectual activity and service to others.