Dignitas Humana Award

Dignitas Human AwardThe Dignitas Humana Award annually recognizes and encourages the efforts of individuals who do exceptional work on behalf of the poor and disenfranchised. It honors those who exemplify the Judeo-Christian values of service, respect, kindness and compassion in their work to advance the dignity of human persons.

Recipients of this award support, advocate for, nurture and protect people on the margins of society in the United States and around the world and inspire others to work for human dignity and justice.

The Dignitas Humana Award is made possible by the generosity of M. George and Gloria Allen.

Past Recipients

The Dignitas Humana Award

Photo by

Andra Van Kempen-Middlestaedt

2010    Common Hope

2008    Wangari Maathai

2007    Rick Ufford-Chase

2006    Community of Sant'Egidio

2004    Rev. Carl Wilkens

2003    Taizé Community

2002    S. Helen Prejean, CSJ

2001    Rev. Gregory Boyle, SJ

2000    Jean Vanier

1999    Marva Collins

1998    Jonathan Kozol