CSB, SJU and OSB employees honored at three events

Bookmark and Share

May 28, 2019

2019 CSB Retirees

Retirees recognized at the CSB Employee Recognition event included (from left) Gordon Smith, Barb Ries, Terri Johnson, Louise Geyer and Jon Anderson. Photo by Ali Jungles ’19.

2019 SJU retirees

Retirees recognized at the SJU Administrative Assembly included (from left) Jan Jahnke and Jim Parsons. Photo by Tommy O’Laughlin.

Three employee recognition events were held in May to honor administrative and support staff from the College of Saint Benedict, Saint John's University and the Order of Saint Benedict.

Employees were recognized for retirement and years of service at the events May 8 (SJU Administrative), May 15 (Order of Saint Benedict Support Staff) and May 20 (CSB).

In addition, the Fr. Vincent Tegeder, OSB, Outstanding Administrator Award was presented to Lori Klapperich, assistant director of health promotion.

The award, named in honor of Fr. Vincent Tegeder, OSB, recognizes service and excellence within the Saint John's administrative community — someone who embodies the spirit of Saint John's, provides quality service and makes a powerful contribution to Saint John's.

“She is an excellent steward of resources and is someone to be counted on in both good times and challenging times,” said SJU President Michael Hemesath in his introduction to Klapperich. “A critical example of her leadership excellence is her ongoing use of assessment to critically evaluate her work and utilizing the data to inform program development and improvement.

“Through her committed leadership and influence, the Health Promotion student teams develop creative and meaningful programs and events to raise awareness for college health and to facilitate exploration of making changes for lifelong health,” Hemesath added. 

The other nominees for the award were Fr. Eric Hollas, OSB (Institutional Advancement) and Jim Parsons  (library).

“Each has a strong commitment to their work, their coworkers and colleagues, our students and to the mission of Saint John’s,” Hemesath said of the three nominees.


CSB/SJU – Jon Anderson, Transportation; Marlene Ergen, Human Resources; Louise Geyer, Financial Aid; Heidi Harlander, Experience and Professional Development; Merry Hoppert, Center for Global Education; Terri Johnson, Art and Theater; Mary Kron, Bookstore; Jim Parsons, Library; Paul Theis, IT Services.

CSB – Joyce Honer, Culinary Services; Terry Loso, Power Plant; Barb Ries, Culinary Services; Kim Schmitz, Culinary Services; Gordon Smith, Custodial Services.

SJU – Barb Brinkman, Dining Service; Ginger Hoffman, Dining Service; Michael Kreitzer, Custodial Services; Jane Stodolka, Custodial Services; Ginny Vickerman, Business Office.

OSB (includes Saint John's Abbey, Liturgical Press and Saint John's Preparatory School) – Jan Jahnke, Abbey Human Resources; Fr. Jonathan Licari, OSB, Prep School.

Five years

CSB/SJU – Allan Dingman, Transportation; Deirdre Harkins, Music; Kelly Kraemer, Library; Lori Moe, English, Gender Studies and University Chair of Critical Thinking; Sarah Murnane, Admission; Colleen Nelson, Library; Debbie Plantenberg, Transportation; Aaron Utke, IT Services; Brandyn Woodard, Student Development.

CSB – Byron Cigelske, Power Plant; Daniel Eckberg, Athletics; Mary Hinton, President; Valerie Jones, Alumnae Relations; Becky Lundgren, President’s Office; Erik Nichols, Culinary Services; Cheryl Rasmussen, Culinary Services; Anne Sumangil, Alumnae Relations.

SJU – Rachael Ackerman, Life Safety; Judy Doty, Life Safety; Troy Fritz, Institutional Advancement; Daniel Grillo, HMML; Kole Heckendorf, Athletics; Steven Jesh, Dining Service; Jennifer Meyer, Business Office; Kevin Middendorf, Dining Service; Jeanette Mugg, Dining Service; Donelle Poling, School of Theology; Tammara Rademacher, Life Safety; Justin Rost, Athletics; Matthew Sand, Dining Service.

OSB – Cindy Haagenson, Prep School; Nathaniel Heroux, Prep School; Lila Mueller, Abbey Custodial; Jill Pauly, Prep School; Benjamin Peterson, Abbey Physical Plant; Mary Reuter, Prep School.

10 years

CSB/SJU – John Adix, Counseling and Health Promotion; Adam Dahl, Fine Arts Programming; Stacy Penk, Library; Joy Ruis, Center for Global Education; Julie Sorteberg, Bookstore; Sharon Wenner, Academic Advising.

CSB – Jennifer Hylla, Duplicating.

SJU – Derek Daehn, Athletics; Lloyd Juel, Grounds; Br. Walter Kieffer, OSB, Residential Life; Joseph Kobylinski, Custodial Services; Jennifer Kutter, Outdoor University; Doug Schueller, Athletics; Br. Aelred Senna, OSB, Residential Life; Joan Stangler, Custodial Services; Martie Thomes, Dining Service; Bryce Welle, Sexton Dining.

OSB – Stephen Berhow, Abbey Fire Department; Brian Eisenschenk, Liturgical Press; Kelly Fitch, Prep School; Tamara Huston, Abbey Physical Plant.

15 years

CSB/SJU – Judy Bednar, Human Resources; Steve Gradin, IT Services; Angela Mareck, Student Employment; Brent Schloe, IT Services; Gail Schneider, Natural Science; Jennifer Schwichtenberg, Theology; Jane Stromme, Registrar’s Office.

CSB – Brad Bechtold, Security; Marianne Koenig, Culinary Services; Carmen Welinski, Culinary Services.

SJU – Pamela Broughton, Dining Service; Bernadine Heurung, Athletics; Ryan Kutter, Pottery Studio; Cindy Maile, Campus Ministry; Tim Ternes, HMML; Wayne Torborg, HMML.

OSB – Russell Kilanowski, Abbey Physical Plant; Donald Ottenhoff, Collegeville Institute.

20 years

CSB/SJU – Michael Ewing, Counseling and Health Promotion; Jon McGee, Institutional Research; Ganard Orionzi, Environmental Health and Safety; Christine Sales, Bookstore; Lynn Schultz, Physics; Jeanne Terres, Academic Advising; Adam Wicklund, IT Services.

CSB – Sharron Braegelmann, Security; Barb Ries, Culinary Services; Martha Schmitz, Culinary Services; Jane Schulzetenberg, Custodial Maintenance.

SJU – Eileen Daniels, Dining Service; Gail Studniski, Dining Service; Joseph Vardas, Athletics; Jeff Wubbels, Dining Service.

OSB – Robert Ellenbecker, Prep School; Kris Fremo, Prep School.

25 years

CSB/SJU – Barb Buesing, Health Center; James Gramke, IT Services; Nicole Joos, IT Services; Jason Kelly, Academic Advising; Mary Kron, Bookstore.

CSB – Gordon Smith, Custodial Services.

SJU – Fr. Eric Hollas, OSB, Institutional Advancement; Ginger Hoffman, Dining Services; Todd Vierzba, Life Safety.

OSB – Gerard Huhne, Abbey Physical Plant; Vivian Krueger, Collegeville Institute; Mary Jo Leighton, Prep School; Lance Lydeen, Prep School.

30 years

CSB/SJU – Jacqueline Hampton, Academic Advising; Norma Koetter, History and Asian Studies; Mo Laube, Registrar’s Office; Don Renshaw, Library; Mark Shimota, Academic Advising; Mary Jo Waggoner, Academic Affairs.

CSB – Susan Palmer, Business Office.

SJU – Ralph Shay, Custodial Services.

OSB – Peter Dwyer, Liturgical Press.

35 years

CSB/SJU – Debra Baggenstoss, Admission.

SJU – Cathy Wieme, Institutional Advancement.

OSB – Jill Ficker, Liturgical Press; Michael Roske, Abbey Woodworking.

40 years

CSB/SJU – Mary Harlander-Locke, Experience and Professional Development.

SJU – David Philippi, Dining Service.

OSB – Ann Sand, Abbey Retirement Center; Colleen Stiller, Liturgical Press.