Bill Kling

Bill Kling, a 1964 SJU graduate with a degree in economics, is president emeritus of American Public Media Group. He was the founding president of Minnesota Public Radio - which began in 1967 as classical music station KSJR in Collegeville - and American Public Media, the national public radio network which serves over 900 public radio stations. Kling was given the Edward R. Murrow Award in 1981 by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. In 2004, he was inducted into the Minnesota Broadcaster's Hall of Fame, and in 2011 was awarded an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from SJU. In 2000, Kling was listed as one of the "100 Most Significant Individuals of the 20th Century" by both the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Minneapolis Star-Tribune newspapers.