Theology Day

Theology Day is a chance for people in our communities who are seeking a deeper understanding of their faith and its place in their everyday lives to learn from and interact with the theologians of Saint John's School of Theology and Seminary. It offers a chance for these scholars to gain insights and grow in their faith, as well.

A typical Theology Day consists of registration and refreshments, followed by a period of conversation/presentation/lecture. The conversation then continues as participants are given a chance to continue their discussions with one another. Morning presentations are followed by a complimentary lunch for all participants, and most evening sessions also include a meal.

There is no fee for Theology Day, but registration is required. Free-will offerings and gifts to support the mission of the School of Theology and Seminary are gratefully accepted.

Support Theology Day!

Donate Now!


2018-2019 Theology Days

Fifty Years on the Family: A Look Back to the Present

Presenter: Kari-Shane Davis Zimmerman, Ph.D.

Dates and Times: 

  • Thursday, October 11, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - Pax Christi Church, Eden Prairie, MN

  • Friday, October 26, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University

  • Thursday, November 29, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - St. Francis Cabrini Church, Minneapolis, MN

  • Friday, December 14, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University

  • Thursday, January 31, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - St. Joseph the Worker Catholic Church, Maple Grove, MN

Additional Information| Register Now!

Is ISIS Islamic?

Presenter: Noreen Herzfeld, Ph.D. 

Dates and Times: 

  • Friday, October 12, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - St. Gerard Majella, Kirkwood, MO

  • Saturday, October 13, 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. - St. Clair of Assisi Church, O'Fallon, IL



Additional Information| Register Now!

Exploring the Gospel of Luke

Fr. Michael Patella

Presenter: Fr. Michael Patella, OSB

Dates and Times:

  • Thursday, December 6, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - St. Joseph the Worker Catholic Church, Maple Grove, MN

  • Friday, January 25, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University 

  • Friday, February 8, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Naples, Florida (Location TBD)

  • Thursday, February 21, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - Church of Saint Mary,  Alexandria, MN 

  • Friday, March 1, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University

  • Thursday, April 25, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - Basilica of Saint Mary, Minneapolis, MN 

Additional Information | Register Now!

The Book of Revelation: Fact or Fiction?

Fr. Michael Patella

Presenter: Fr. Michael Patella, OSB

Dates and Times:

  • Sunday, March 3, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m. - Saint John Vianney Parish, Omaha, NE

Additional Information | Register Now!

70 x 7: Learning the Practice of Forgiveness

Kathleen Cahalan, Ph.D.

Presenter: Kathleen A. Cahalan, Ph.D.

Dates and Times:

  • Friday, March 22, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University 

  • Friday, April 12, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University 

Additional Information| Register Now!

Power, Control, & Pluralism: Being Church in a Secular Age

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Presenter: William J. Cahoy, Ph.D.

Dates and Times:

  • Thursday, March 7, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Our Lady of the Valley Parish, Green Valley, AZ

  • Friday, March 8, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - The Blessed Sacrament Roman Catholic Parish, Scottsdale, AZ

Additional Information | Register Now!

  

Who will have Faith? The New Evangelization in a Rapidly Changing Culture

   

Image result for donelle poling

Presenters: Jeff Kaster, Ed.D. and Donelle Poling

Dates and Times:  

  • Friday, September 14, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University 

  • Thursday, October 4, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. - Church of Saint Mary, Alexandria, MN

  • Friday, November 16, 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. - Emmaus Hall, Saint John's University 

Additional Information| Register Now!

Sign up to receive Theology Day email notifications

Theology Day - Notifications!