Please update your web browser or disable Compatibility View.

School of Theology and Seminary Regents


The Saint John's School of Theology and Seminary Board of Regents consists of 45 members - up to 31 lay  members, 5 monastic members, one Saint John's University Regent, one Saint John's Abbey Overseer, one faculty Regent, one student Regent, one alumni/ae Regent and 4 SJU Trustee Regents.

Term of Service

A term on the Board of Regents consists of three years. Regents may be re-elected for up to three terms. After nine years of service, a Regent must roll off the Board for at least one year before he or she can be re-nominated to serve a new term.

Commitment and Responsibilities

Members of the Board of Regents of Saint John's School of Theology and Seminary Direct and Control the School of Theology and Seminary in their oversight of institutional affiars in accord with the Statutes and Bylaws of the School of Theology and Seminary and as implemented through periodic statements of mission and purpose and institutional plans. Serving in such a citical oversight capacity, Regents accept the responsibility to fulfill certain obligations which include the following:

  • Dedication to the School of Theology and Seminary
  • Meeting Attendance & Preparation
  • Committee Service & Participation
  • Other Board Activities & Functions
  • Financial Support
  • Advocacy & Promotion
  • Service to the School of Theology and Seminary
  • Evaluation & Re-nomination

Saint John's School of Theology and Seminary manages and executes the graduate and seminary study programs of Saint John's University. The different nature of graduate level and seminary education stems the need for a particularly focused governing group, hence, the Board of Regents.

Board Chair

Dan Fazendin
Dan Fazendin, Chair