The Kevin DeVaan Memorial Award

Kevin DeVaan ’78 lived by the mantra, “it’s about effort and attitude.” DeVaan’s influential work, infectious spirit and exceptional example of service to alma mater set him apart as an Alumni Association Board volunteer until his unexpected passing in 2012.

The Kevin DeVaan Award is presented annually in June to an Alumni Association Board Volunteer whose efforts and attitude inspire others to do more for Saint John’s University.

Alumni Association Board members whose service to alma mater most embodies Kevin's mantra are selected by the Alumni Association Board Office of the President to receive the award.

Andrew Spaanem ’06

Andrew Spaanem ’06 received the award in 2016. Andrew is a wealth management advisor and field director at Northwestern Mutual. He served on the Alumni Association Board for many years, and was vice president of The Benedictine Way committee.

Brian Kelly '99 received the award in 2015. Kelly is Wealth Management Advisor at Northwestern Mutual. He has served on the Alumni Association Board for many years, and been an active class leader for the class of 1999. Brian's leadership of the Resource Development Committee has been instrumental, and he is constantly present and involved with alumni gatherings and programs.

Aaron Smith '92 received the award in 2014. Smith is  co-founder and creative director at Smitty's Workshop. He has served as a leader on the Alumni Association Board for many years. Additionally, he played an instrumental role in the creation of Heritage Hall and the new Alumni Lounge in Sexton Commons. Aaron has also served as board secretary, keeping the board and past board members informed and engaged.

Dick Howard '72 received the inaugural award in 2013. Howard is the President of Fairview Foundation, and has served as a leader on the Board for many years. Additionally, he co-founded the Board's Benedictine Way Committee, which focuses on keeping alumni connected with Saint John's through Benedictine Values-based programming.