University Management

Abbot John Klassen, OSB

Secretary: Br. Ryan Kelly, OSB, Abbey - Phone: 2546

The Abbot is the spiritual head of Saint John's Benedictine Community and Chancellor of the University.

Board of Regents, Mr. Jim Frey, Chair

Secretary to the Board: Q142 - Phone: 2246

The Board of Regents authorizes and supports the mission and administration of the University. The Board of Regents appoints the President and Vice Presidents and exercises control over the faculty, administration and educational policy.

President, Mr. Dan Whalen (Interim)

Exec Secretary: Ms Ruth Chambers,  Q137 - Phone: 2882

Directly and through the Provost, Vice Presidents and Deans, the President is responsible for the overall welfare and direction of the University. He is available to students by appointment. The University reserves the right to establish and enforce policies in accord with the values of its tradition as interpreted ultimately by the authority of the Office of President and his delegates.

Provost, Dr. Rita Kneusel

Secretary: Ms. Pam Reding, CSB Main 127 - Phone: 5503

The Provost for Academic Affairs is the chief academic officer for both CSB and SJU and the only coordinate vice president of the two institutions. Dr. Kneusel oversees the graduate and undergraduate academic programs and coordinates the work of the academic deans, academic departments, registrar, libraries, academic advising, academic support services, intercultural programs, international education, and institutional research.

Academic Dean of the College and Associate Provost, Mr. Joseph DesJardins

Secretary: Ms. Shirley Kelly, Q141 - Phone: 3147

The Dean of the undergraduate college is directly responsible for the interpretation and application of academic policies affecting students and faculty. He directly administers such academic matters as curriculum and program development, special academic projects, evaluation of courses and programs, and the assignment of teaching responsibilities.

VP Student Development, Fr. Doug Mullin, OSB

Secretary: Ms. Tonya Miller, Q167 - Phone: 2737

The Vice President of Student Development, Dr. Gar Kellom, oversees and assists student religious, cultural and social development. Specific areas of budget and management responsibilities include: Athletic Programs,Campus Life, Campus Ministry, Counseling Services and Career Services, International Student Programs, Intercultural Center, Life Safety Services, Men's Center, Residential Life, Student Activities, Student Government, and Sexton Commons. He is responsible for policy regarding University life that supports individual responsibility and community values.

VP Finance and Administration, Mr. Dick Adamson

Secretary: Ms. Karen Schoenberg, W207 - Phone: 3169

The Vice President of Administrative Service is the University's primary fiscal officer and responsible for the overall direction of financial affairs including the preparation and implementation of the budget, internal and external auditing and financial reporting. This person is responsible for the billing and collection of all accounts; payroll and personnel; receiving of revenues and paying of bills; and the administration of campus buildings, enterprises and services. Dining Services and Information Technology Services report to this VP.

VP Institutional Advancement, Mr. Rob Culligan

Secretary: Ms. Marie Eli, SL116 - Phone: 2593

The Vice President of Institutional Advancement directs the Office of Institutional Advancement which encompasses alumni activities, annual fund, capital campaign, development, operations and constituent research, foundation relations, planned giving, and fine arts programming.

VP Enrollment, Planning & Public Affairs, Mr. Jon McGee

Secretary:  Ms. Roxanne Schramel, CSB Main G33 – Phone:  5183

The VP for Enrollment, Planning, and Public Affairs is responsible for leading campus-based strategic planning processes, research and analysis in support of executive decision-making, and leadership in support of campus visibility and marketing for both CSB and SJU.  The Communication and Marketing Services Office, whose activities include media relations, news service, publications and printing, and sports information, reports to the Vice President for Planning, Research, and Communication.

Associate Vice President and Dean of Admissions & Financial Aid, Mr. Michael Thorp

Secretary: Ms. Louise Trudeau, Q106 - Phone: 3036

Mr.Thorp is the Dean of  Admission for both CSB and SJU. As the joint dean, he works with members of both colleges' Presidents' Staffs to assure that the colleges develop and maintain the comprehensive, integrated academic and student services that are needed to maximize the institutions' ability to attract and retain both the quantity and quality of students they wish to enroll. He is also responsible for the joint CSB and SJU Admission Office and the CSB/SJU Financial Aid Office.

Dean of the School of Theology, Dr William Cahoy

Secretary:  Ms. Mary Stamps, SL216 - Phone: 2622

The Dean of the School of Theology oversees the planning, implementation and assessment of academic and residential life programs in the School of Theology. He works with the staff of the School of Theology to recruit, enroll and serve students. He assists the faculty in creating and maintaining the curriculum and the resources to support it, including their on-going need to do research and to improve their teaching effectiveness. He interprets academic policies and degree requirements so that the quality of the program might be maintained and its standards fairly administered. He encourages the development and implementation of residential life programs that promote the integration of the spiritual, personal, and intellectual dimensions of the student's life.