Important Dates

Calendar of Important Residential Life Dates

 Fall 2019 Semester

Opening Week

New International Student Move-in, August 19
New Student Move-in, 8 a.m. - 1 p.m., August 22
New Transfer Student Move-in, 8 a.m. - 1 p.m., August 22
Returning Student Move-in, 8 a.m. - 1 p.m., August 24

Applications to enter the Residency Requirement Exemption Process are available September 1 on the Housing Portal.

Labor Day: September 2 – CLASSES WILL BE HELD

Long Weekend: Friday September 27 at 8 p.m. (residence halls and on-campus apartments are open and student card access is limited to their building only) to Tuesday October 1 at 9 a.m. Classes resume on Wednesday October 2 at 8 a.m.

October 15: Applications for the Residency Requirement Exemption Process are due by October 15. Applications are on the Housing Portal.

Thanksgiving Recess: Tuesday, November 26 at 8 p.m. to Sunday, December 1 at 9 a.m. – Break Stay Request Forms are Required for this Period to reside on-campus.

December 12: Signed Exemption Acceptance Forms are due Wednesday December 12 via the Housing Portal.

Winter Break: Residence Hall and On-Campus Apartments close on Tuesday, December 17 at 8 p.m. and re-open on Sunday January 13 at 9 a.m. – Break Stay Request Forms are Required for this Period to reside on-campus.

Spring 2020 Semester

Sunday January 12: Residence Halls open at 9 a.m.

Spring Break: The Residence Halls and Apartments will close on Friday, February 28 at 8 p.m. to Sunday, March 8 at 9 a.m. Classes will resume on Monday March 9. – Break Stay Request Forms are Required to reside on campus over Spring Break.

Easter Break: The Residence Halls and Apartments will close on Thursday April 9 at 8 p.m. to Monday, April 13 at 9 a.m. Classes resume on Tuesday April 14. (residence halls and on-campus apartments are open and student card access is limited to their building only)

End of Year Closing: All Residence Halls and On Campus Apartments will close at 8 p.m. on Friday May 8.

End of Year Closing Move-Out Expectations

  • All Students: Friday, May 8th by 8 p.m. (All non-graduating seniors must depart within 24 hours of their last final or prior to Friday May 11 at 8 p.m., whichever comes first)
  • Commencement: Sunday May 10 at 2 p. m. in the Abbey Church
  • Graduating SJU Seniors: Monday, May 11th by Noon. Graduating seniors are required to depart prior to Monday May 11 at Noon.