Man of Extraordinary Service Award

Man of Extraordinary Service Award


The Man of Extraordinary Service is presented to students who exhibit "Caritas," a Christian or Christ-like love for others. Caritas is more than a feeling of positive regard or care for others for it always leads to the outpouring or giving of oneself through service to others which provides healing or builds them up and honors their dignity as persons who bear the image and likeness of God. Caritas is most commonly extended to persons or communities in need, to those who are treated as of lesser value because of some condition in their life.

The Man of Extraordinary Service Award seeks to encourage and honor Johnnies who demonstrate Caritas through their service to others while enrolled at Saint John's University.  Caritas Extraordinary Service may begin in a variety of ways such as through an academic service-learning requirement; through volunteer service related to student development programming, through a work program, or through self-initiative with an external agency or even through no agency at all; but it shows a personal commitment that goes beyond expectations in one or more of the following characteristics:   

  • Demonstrates a personal commitment to service which builds or extends community through Benedictine Values and/or
  • Demonstrates a personal commitment to service which promotes justice through one or more of the seven principles of Catholic Social Teaching
  • Demonstrates a significant investment of personal time and/or talent
  • Demonstrates significant impact on the beneficiaries of service that is consistent with Benedictine Values and/or principles of Catholic Social Teaching
  • Demonstrates the ability to collaborate or work with others so as to accomplish a greater good
  • Demonstrates thoughtful reflection about service in light of Benedictine Values and/or Catholic Social Teaching

The Awards

Two awards will be given this year to two upperclassmen (Sr., Jr.). Each Man of Extraordinary Service will receive an award for their demonstrated commitment to service.  A student may only receive this award once during his time at SJU.

The Selection Process

Early in the spring semester, a call for nominations is issued to CSB/SJU students, staff, faculty, and the monastic community. In determining the recipients of this award, the Man of Extraordinary Service Award Selection Committee considers the above characteristics. 

After being nominated, the students will be required to write one  300 - 700 word essay collectively answering the following questions:

  • What are the service activities that have been most important to you and/or the Saint John's Community?  (relating to self-initiated service, academic service, campus/student life service, and work related service)
  • Why is this work important to you?
  • How does your service work connect with the Benedictine Values and/or Catholic Social Teaching?

Nominees must also submit a copy of their résumé listing their service experience in the following three categories:  Self-Initiated, Academic, and Work.

      • 2020 Application Form (to be completed by Johnnies who have been nominated)  Completed Application is due 8:00 a.m. on Monday, February 17, 2020.

      2019 Recipients


      Pictured: Muqkadeen Poole, Michael Kelly, Simeon Farquharson, and Will Gillach

      Will Gillach
      Michael Kelly
      Muqkadeen Poole
      Simeon Farquharson

      Past Recipients

      2018 Recipients
      Ryan Graham
      Austin Hingtgen
      Nathan Williams
      Matthew Burgstahler

      2017 Recipients
      Owyn Ferguson
      Gary Harala
      Donovan Inniss
      Cody Kohut

      2016 Recipients
      Peter Johnson
      Abdirizak Jama
      Ramond Mitchell
      Frantz Soiro

      2015 Recipients
      Lukas Steffensmeier
      Matthew Fink
      Jake Barrientos
      Austin Barkley

      2014 Recipients
      Kevin Curwick
      Jake Collins
      Jesse Wild
      Brian Vander Heiden

      2013 Recipients
      Edwin Torres
      Justin Markon
      Connor Klausing
      Stephen Gross

      2012 Recipients
      Chris Heitzig
      Andy Hovel
      Carlos Dabu
      Will Newkirk