Skip to content

Phi Beta Kappa recognizes 43 students for academic excellence

A group of College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University students are the latest to receive an elite honor. 

A total of 43 students from CSB and SJU make up the 2023 list of inductees to Phi Beta Kappa. This is the 14th cohort of students who have been inducted into the chapter, which now counts over 800 members. 

Those selected are Phi Beta Kappa members for life and receive a certificate to honor their achievement.

A ceremony to honor the 43 inductees is scheduled for Wednesday (April 26). CSB and SJU President Brian Bruess will provide opening remarks. Louis Johnston, professor of economics who received Phi Beta Kappa recognition while attending the University of Minnesota as an undergraduate student, will speak on “Telling Stories.”

Students are chosen based on their grade-point average (3.85 for juniors, 3.65 for seniors) and must be a liberal arts and/or sciences major. The selection committee also looked at the breadth and depth of the student’s program and other achievements, such as a thesis or other research; interest in other cultures or languages; extracurricular activities; and academic performance.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic society, having been founded in 1776 by several students from the College of William and Mary during the American Revolution. It was originally intended to promote freedom of inquiry and liberty of thought and expression.

There are now 293 chapters at select American colleges and universities, with more than 500,000 members who come from diverse backgrounds and experiences. According to the organization’s website, 10 percent of U.S. colleges and universities have Phi Beta Kappa chapters. Over 20,000 juniors and seniors are inducted every year.

Past members have included 17 U.S. Presidents, 42 Supreme Court justices and over 150 Nobel Laureates.

Here is a list of the 2023 inductees into the Theta Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University, listed alphabetically:

Cavin J. Allen – Excelsior, Minnesota, Computer Science and Hispanic Studies

Kristiana N. Anderson – Dassel, Minnesota, Computer Science

Megan M. (Emme) Anderson – Maple Grove, Minnesota, Economics

Autumn J. Ayer – Forest Lake, Minnesota, English and French

Aidan J. Becken – Prior Lake, Minnesota, Biology

Alarie A. Chu – Saint Cloud, Minnesota, Biology

Kyle R. Curphy – Solon Springs, Wisconsin, Economics and Mathematics

Celeste E. Dickson – Greenfield, Wisconsin, French

Hunter B. Fischer – Spicer, Minnesota, Biology

Peyton J. Fischer – Spicer, Minnesota, Biology

Abigail M. Freeman – Holdingford, Minnesota, English

Ethan M. Huber – Mitchell, South Dakota, Biochemistry

Erin C. Kammueller – Saint Paul, Minnesota, English and Hispanic Studies

Sophia M. Kelly – Cold Spring, Minnesota, Sociology

Elianna L. Knutson – Maple Grove, Minnesota, Psychology and Pre-Occupational Therapy

Isabel J. Lesseig – Fairbanks, Alaska, Nutrition

Megan M. Lidtke – Andover, Minnesota, Biology

Erin K. Long – St. Louis Park, Minnesota, Hispanic Studies

Cate E. Luna – Rosemount, Minnesota, French and Peace Studies

Katelyn M. Meier – Grantsburg, Wisconsin, Economics and Hispanic Studies

Mahina S. Melim – Kapolei, Hawaii, Environmental Studies

Peyton J. Miller – Lake Elmo, Minnesota, Biochemistry

Nolan L. Morrey – Rochester, Minnesota, History

Miriam L. Nelson – Blue Hill, Maine, Environmental Studies and Political Science

Grace R. Nulty – Saint Paul, Minnesota, Political Science

Noah M. Presseller – Saint Paul, Minnesota, Accounting and Computer Science

Fiona L. Rosko – Seaside, California, Biology

Elizabeth M. (Betsy) Ruckman – Monticello, Illinois, Environmental Studies

Jervon S. Sands – Nassau, The Bahamas, Applied Physics

Isabelle M. Schmelzer – Wausau, Wisconsin, Biochemistry

Samantha (Sam) K. Schug – Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, Biology

Kian J. Sia Su – St. Joseph, Minnesota, Environmental Studies

James D. Siems – Bemidji, Minnesota, Economics and Environmental Studies

Fiona J. Smith – River Falls, Wisconsin, Mathematics

Jacob D. Spring – Stillwater, Minnesota, Biochemistry

Shelby L. Stovern – Bird Island, Minnesota, Nutrition

Perrin K. Thompson – Annandale, Minnesota, Biology

Morgan J. Van Beck – Sartell, Minnesota, Hispanic Studies and Political Science

Marleigh J. Van Dellen – Robbinsdale, Minnesota, Japanese

Elise J. Vomacka – Kandiyohi, Minnesota, Psychology

Ashlee S. Vyskocil – Green Bay, Wisconsin, Political Science and Sociology

Anna L. Webb – Shoreview, Minnesota, Hispanic Studies

Ian M. Wilson – Bonita Springs, Florida, Computer Science

Phi Beta Kappa logo