Phi Beta Kappa to induct 57 students April 24

Bookmark and Share

April 17, 2019

Fifty-seven students from the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University will be inducted into the Theta of Minnesota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at CSB and SJU at 5 p.m. Wednesday, April 24, at Alumnae Hall, Haehn Campus Center, CSB.

The public is welcome to attend the ceremony, which will be followed by an invitation-only banquet for Phi Beta Kappa members and their guests in room 204, Gorecki Center.

CSB President Mary Dana Hinton will give welcoming remarks at the ceremony. Ana Conboy, assistant professor of languages and cultures at CSB and SJU and a resident member of Phi Beta Kappa, will deliver the keynote address.

A total of 47 seniors and 10 juniors were selected by faculty members at CSB and SJU who are members of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest academic honor society (founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Virginia). There are 30 students from CSB and 27 from SJU in this year's group.

Students are chosen based on their grade-point average (3.85 for juniors, 3.65 for seniors) and must be a liberal arts and/or sciences major. The selection committee also looked at the breadth and depth of the student's program and other achievements, such as a thesis or other research; interest in other cultures or languages; extracurricular activities; and academic performance.

This is the 10th cohort of students who have been inducted into the chapter. Delegates from more than 200 chapters and associations of Phi Beta Kappa voted to establish the chapter at CSB and SJU Oct. 2, 2009, during their Triennial Council in Austin, Texas.

The CSB and SJU chapter was the eighth Phi Beta Kappa chapter established in Minnesota and was named 'Theta' after the eighth letter of the Greek alphabet.