CSB president named to two national boards that serve colleges

Bookmark and Share

February 14, 2018

Mary HintoCollege of Saint Benedict President Mary Dana Hinton has been selected to two boards that serve and support colleges and universities across the country.

Hinton was elected to the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) Board of Directors at a meeting Jan. 4 in Hollywood, Florida.

At a meeting Jan. 24 in Washington, D.C., she was also elected to the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AACU) Board of Directors.

Hinton was one of 10 college presidents elected to the CIC board, and she will serve a three-year term, through January 2021.

“The Council is pleased to have these outstanding leaders with their vast experience as board members,” said CIC President Richard Ekman. “CIC continues to create many new programs, projects and services, and needs a strong Board of Directors to oversee their planning and execution.

“I look forward to working with our new board members and new executive committee,” Ekman said.

The CIC is an association of 767 nonprofit independent colleges and universities, state-based councils of independent colleges and other higher education affiliates that works to support college and university leadership, advance institutional excellence and enhance public understanding of independent higher education’s contributions to society.

Founded in 1956 and based in Washington, D.C., CIC is the major national organization that focuses on services to leaders of independent colleges and universities and state-based councils. CIC offers conferences, seminars, publications and other programs and services that help institutions improve educational quality, administrative and financial performance, student outcomes and institutional visibility.

Hinton was one of eight persons appointed to AACU board for a two-year term. It is renewable for a second term.

“AACU is honored to have such a talented group of higher education leaders on our board of directors,” said AACU President Lynn Pasquerella. “Their diversity of perspectives and commitment to excellence is more critical than ever in advancing our mission of promoting liberal learning and equity in undergraduate education in service to democracy.”

Founded in 1915 and now comprising 1,400 member institutions, the AACU is dedicated to advancing the vitality and public standing of liberal education by making quality and equity the foundations for excellence in undergraduate education in service to democracy. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career.

Serving on regional and national boards is a familiar experience for Hinton, who became the 15th president of CSB on July 1, 2014.

She became chair of the Minnesota Private College Council Board of Presidents in July. Hinton also serves as a board member for the Women's College Coalition; the Greater St. Cloud Development Corporation; Minnesota Campus Compact; the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities; and the Central Minnesota Community Foundation.