Skip to content
Academics Campus & Community

Campus Compact honors two students for civic impact

Two students from the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University who made an impact in the local community received 2024 Presidents’ Awards from Iowa and Minnesota Campus Compact, a coalition of colleges and universities committed to civic engagement and service learning.

CSB senior biology major Ella Martin from Bemidji, Minnesota, and SJU senior psychology major Ryan Imm from St. Paul, Minnesota, received Presidents’ Student Leadership Awards.

Martin’s public service and leadership has grown each year as she engages as a member of the Bonner Leader program and in her role at Outdoor University as a student naturalist. Martin created an internship through the Summer Leadership Fellows program in 2022 at the Northwoods Battered Women’s Shelter in Bemidji. The internship provided her an opportunity to be at the center of client care and see what public service looks like in a city with challenging economic and employment shortages.

Martin dove deeper into equitable health care in rural Minnesota during summer 2023 with a second internship. Her superpower is her ability to listen, gather more information and ask insightful, respectful questions.

Imm is a shining example of what it means to be a leader and advocate for inclusivity. As an advisory board member and education coordinator, he has played a crucial role in implementing valuable educational programming that raises awareness and advocacy for issues related to LGBTQIA+, gender and other related matters.

Imm’s collaborative approach with various clubs and organizations has helped create a safe and welcoming space for everyone, and his efforts have not gone unnoticed. His inspiring dedication to creating a more inclusive community is a testament to his character and the impact he has made on those around him.

The Presidents’ Student Leadership Award recognizes an individual student or a student organization that models a deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidenced by initiative, innovative and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues, effective community building and integration of civic engagement into the college experience, according to the compact.

The awards celebration was held on April 19 at Macalester College.

CSB senior Ella Martin received the Presidents’ Student Leadership Award.

SJU senior Ryan Imm received the Presidents’ Student Leadership Award.