John E. Robson Scholarship for CSB Students of Public Policy

Application Information for John E. Robson Scholarship for CSB Students of Public Policy

Scholarship Purpose: The John E. Robson Scholarship for Students of Public Policy was established in 2002 by Margaret Zuehlke Robson in memory of her husband, John. John’s life was a model of personal political engagement—the cornerstone of citizenship. Having served under four Presidents of the United States and having been enmeshed in many aspects of public policy, this scholarship serves as a legacy of John’s life’s work. It is hoped this scholarship will continue to inspire students at the College of Saint Benedict to become involved in public policy in order to produce societal change. 

Scholarship Criteria: Eligible applicants must be current College of Saint Benedict sophomores or juniors (juniors or seniors during the 2020-21 academic year) who have a strong and demonstrated interest in public policy and academic excellence. Students must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25. Scholarship recipients will be selected based on the following:      

  1. Academic excellence and achievement.
  2. Engagement in policy issues, domestic or international, and in political activities on or off campus.   
  3. Superior communication skills.
  4. Passion and dedication to making social change.
  5. Involvement with campus organizations, including but not limited to the McCarthy Center.  

For additional information on this scholarship contact Dr. Matt Lindstrom, Director of the McCarthy Center or Sabrina Gilchrist, Program Coordinator of the McCarthy Center.

Scholarship Amount:  The Scholarship Committee will award 2-4 scholarships per year. Scholarships will range in value from $2,500 to $5,000. The scholarship is for one year. Previous recipients of the Robson Scholarship may re-apply for one additional year; but will need to submit a new application form.

Application Deadline: 

Applications for the 2019-20 Robson Scholarship are due on April 13, 2020. Scholarship recipients will be announced by the end of April.