Native American Advisory Committee

In the fall of 2020, the McCarthy Center created a Native American Advisory Committee (NAAC).  The NAAC serves to advise the CSB/SJU community in transforming our campuses into spaces that serve Native nations and Native/Indigenous students on their own terms.  

CSB/SJU is on the ancestral homeland of the Dakota and Anishinaabe people.  Our campuses were once home to St. Benedict’s and St. John’s Indian Industrial Schools, which were part of a nationwide effort to force Native youth to assimilate through family separation.  NAAC’s mission is for CSB/SJU to:

  • Become institutions where all Native and Indigenous students know they are welcome and that every dimension of their identities will flourish
  • Develop committed partnerships with Native nations, supporting the needs and gifts on their own terms
  • Become renown for our work to redress the legacy of Native American boarding schools.

Current members include:

Jaime Arsenault (White Earth Nation Tribal Historic Preservation Officer)

Faith Gronda (Wyandot of Anderdon Nation, CSB ’21)

Lacey Lokken (Oglala Sioux, District 742 American Indian Program Coordinator)

Travis Zimmerman (Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, SJU ’94)


NAAC is facilitated by CSB/SJU Professor Dr. Ted Gordon (Sociology Department).  If you have any ideas or questions for NAAC, please contact him at [email protected].