Past Events

Marie Mutsuki Mockett
Sr Mariella Gable Prize Winner 2020

Susan Steinberg
Novelist, Chair of English USFCA

Sally Wen Mao
Poet, Writer, Educator

Shena McAuliffe
Assistant Professor of Fiction
Winner of Big Moose Prize

Chris Abani
Acclaimed novelist, poet, essayist, screenwriter, and playwright
Spencer Reece
Poet and Documentarian
Joyce Carol Oates
National Book Awared-Winning Novelist, poet, playwright and essayist

Tarfia Faizullah
Jamel Brinkley
2018 Sister Mariella Gable Award Winner
John Coy and Gaylord Schanilec
Project: My Mighty Journey
John is an author, speaker, educator
Gaylord is a fine printer and wood engraver
Kevin Young
Author, Literary Critic, and Poetry Editor
Solmaz Sharif
Poet and finalist for 2016 National Book Award
Edwidge Danticat
2017 Sister Mariella Gable Award Winner

Michael Mercil
Visual Artist

Ann Hamilton
Visual Artist

Susan Stewart
Poet and Critic

Fanny Howe
Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Kimberly Blaeser 
Photographer and Poet

Rebecca Solnit
Author & environmentalist
Eula Biss
2015 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

Paul Muldoon
Pulitzer Prize-winning poet

Laila Lalami
2015 Pulitzer Prize finalist

LAI 18th Anniversary Reading

Howe, Rankine, Carson, and Anno

A Conversation with
Stuart Dybeck and Francine Prose

Revising Highway 61
Discussion of Bob Dylan's influence

Claudia Rankine
PEN Open Book Award

Marjane Satrapi
Bestselling Author and Illustrator

Mary Szybist
National Book Award for Poetry

Larry Haeg
Minnesota Book Award Finalist

Roz Chast
Staff Cartoonist at The New Yorker

Brenda Hillman
International Griffin Poetry Prize



Ru Freeman
2013 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

Community Reading
With seven local authors

Straw into Gold
Papermaking event



Ludwig Laher
Austrian Author and Poet

Avivah Zornberg
Torah Scholar

John Thavis
Francis de Sales Award


Marie Howe
Guggenheim Fellow

Diane Ackerman
2012 Pulitzer Prize Finalist

Deborah Baker
2012 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

Geoff Dyer
Author and Essayist

Katherine A. Powers
Editor of Suitable Accommodations

Scott Russell Sanders
2009 Mark Twain Award

Sarah Vowell
Bestselling Author

Koo Nimo with Mary Hark
Ghanaian Musician, Book Artist

Asian Papermaking Workshop

Seamus Heaney
1995 Nobel Laureate

Terry Eagleton
Author and Literary Theorist

World Voices

Card Making Event

Tiphanie Yanique
Pushcart Prize

Sustainability and Publishing

Peter Smith
Minnesota Author and Poet

Doreen Baingana
Commonwealth Writer's Prize

David Sedaris
Grammy Nominee

Bill Meissner
Loft-McKnight Award in Poetry

Per Petterson
Norwegian Author

Papermaking Class

Elizabeth Alexander
Pulitzer Prize Finalist

Bernardo Atxaga and Wang Ping
Bestselling Author

Beth Kissileff
Author and Editor

Spreading the Word

David Rakoff
Author and Humorist

Nick Hayes
Author and Political Commentator

Mary Hark
Artist and Papermaker

Buzz Spector
Artist and Critical Writer

Louise Erdrich
National Book Award


Ellen Bryant Voigt
Guggenheim Fellow

Carol Connelly
St. Paul Poet Laureate

Ruth Rogers
Curator of Special Collections

Book Lovers' Night

Language for a New Century
Ravi Shankar and Tina Chang

Jorie Graham
MacArthur Fellow

Peace, Poetry and Politics

Linda Gregg
2008 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

Don Leeper
President of BookMobile

Mary Hark
Artist and Papermaker

Li-Young Lee
American Book Award

Fanny Howe
National Endowment of the Arts

Fawzia Afzal-Khan
National Endowment of the Humanities

W.S. Merwin
United States Poet Laureate

Sylvia Nasar
1998 Pulitzer Prize Nominee

A Winter's Interlude:
Taking Books in Visual Directions

Tracy K. Smith
2012 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

Marilynne Robinson
Hemmingway Foundation/PEN Award

Anne Carson
T. S. Eliot Prize

Donald Hall
United States Poet Laureate

Writing Passages

Nuruddin Farah
2006 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

Charles Simic
U.S. Poet Laureate

SpeakOut on Hurricane Katrina

Robert Hass
United States Poet Laureate

Scott Russell Sanders
2009 Mark Twain Award

Anouar Benmalek
Prix Ragid Award

SpeakOut on "Faith"

Clint McCown
2004 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

SpeakOut on Fear and Security

The Holiness of the Imagination
Avivah Zornberg and Marie Howe

Jon Hassler
Guggenheim Fellow

SpeakOut on the Good Life

Joe Coomer
2003 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

David Daniel
Larry Levis Prize

Tracy K. Smith
2012 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

The Mirror of Smiple Souls

Scott Russell Sanders
2009 Mark Twain Award

Diane Glancy
American Book Award

Major Jackson
2000 Cave Canem Poetry Prize

Judith Kitchen
2002 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

Richard Bresnahan and Nor Hall
Author, SJU Potter

Live @ the Jungle

Tribute to Jane Kenyon
Donald Hall

Nick Flynn
1999 PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry

Live @ the Jungle: Voices Under Fire

Barbara Dimmick
2003 Outstanding Work of Fiction

Saskia Hamilton
Bunting Fellowship

Fred Marchant
Washington Prize in Poetry

Lawrence Sutin
Memoirist and Author

Victoria Redel
2001 Sister Mariella Gable Prize

Albert Goldbarth
National Book Critics Circle Award

Live @ the Jungle: Portraits in Poetry

Anne Carson
T. S. Eliot Prize

Li-Young Lee
American Book Award

Jason Shinder
Poet Laureate of Provincetown

Molly Peacock
National Endowment for the Arts

Jessica Treadway
National Endowment for the Arts

Live @ the Jungle: Voices in Fiction

John D'Agata
National Endowment for the Arts

Jorie Graham
Morton Dauwen Zabel Award

April Bernard
Guggenheim Fellow

Robert Pinsky
United States Poet Laureate


Josip Novakovitch
Whiting Writer's Award

  Sven Birkerts

  Robin Hemley
Guggenheim Fellow



  Elizabeth Cox
O'Henry Award for Fiction

  Patricia Hampl
MacArthur Fellowship

  Tribute to Jane Kenyon
Hall, Bly, Gallagher, and Olds