Alcuin & Clemens Library Information Literacy Faculty Award

Nomination Form

The Library is dedicated to helping the students of the College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University to become lifelong learners. We believe that helping students develop their information literacy skills during their college careers will benefit them in their graduate work, professional careers, and throughout their lives. Alcuin & Clemens Library would like to recognize faculty members who have notably contributed to promoting information literacy within the current academic year with an annual Information Literacy Faculty Award.

The selection criteria for the Alcuin & Clemens Library Information Literacy Faculty Award are as follows. The nominated faculty member should exemplify one or more of the following criteria:

  • Advocates using library resources
  • Collaborates with a librarian on information literacy assignments
  • Demonstrates effective application of information literacy and information fluency principles:
    • determining information needs
    • evaluating and analyzing information
    • managing, organizing, and synthesizing information
    • applying information in the context of a classroom project
  • Holds students to high standards regarding accurate citations
  • Creates or revises assignments in a way that reflects an awareness of library resources
  • Seeks out opportunities to partner and collaborate with librarians, and promotes connections between students and librarians
  • Advocates incorporating increasingly complex information literacy skills throughout the curriculum of his or her discipline

This annual award is given to a College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University faculty member who actively supports information literacy within their classrooms as well as within their department. Any member of the College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University faculty is eligible. Nominations will be accepted from self-nominators, other faculty members, librarians, and students.

The winner of the award will receive:

  • Award recipient announced at the Academic Affairs Awards and Recognition Ceremony.
  • A book selected by the recipient to be included in the library collection. The award recipient’s name will be included on nameplate in the book.
  • A plaque of recognition.

2017 Winner: Kate Kamakahi
2016 Winner: Yvette Piggush
2015 Winner: Jen Kramer
2014 Winner: Christi Siver
2013 Winner: Deborah Pembleton
2012 Winner: Ozzie Mayers