About Us

The CSB Sustainability Office

Established in 2010, the mission of the CSB Sustainability Office is to support existing sustainability efforts on campus, develop and implement new programs, and facilitate the exchange of information and partnerships related to sustainability between all members of CSB's community. Please visit our office in Mary Commons 139!

CSB Sustainability Office Staff


Rachel Brodeur
Sustainability Coordinator

Rachel brings with her a strong background in sustainability work with a Bachelor’s degree in Environmental Sciences from Luther College, as well as the experience she gained in her previous position serving as a MN GreenCorps member. Her year of service was spent on the beautiful North Shore working in Lake County, MN where she conducted outreach and education on waste reduction and proper recycling initiatives. Rachel is excited to begin her time here at CSB creating new partnerships, moving CSB towards their sustainabilty goals, and engaging with students, faculty and staff as a sustainable community. You can find Rachel in Mary Commons 139, where the office welcomes visitors with open arms!


Julia Abell '20
Programming Assistant

Julia is an Environmental Studies major from Elk River, Minnesota. She is treasurer of Sustainability Alliance, a member of Climate Action Club, and on the Root Team of the Full Circle Greenhouse. Julia works at the CSB Sustainability Office because sustainability is important to her. She values sustainability in her own life and wants to continue learning, educate fellow students, encourage sustainable living, and promote sustainable initiatives on campus.


Sophie Buysse '20
Community Engagement Assistant

Sophie is a Biology major and Hispanic Studies minor from Marshall, Minnesota. She is the student director of the Full Circle Greenhouse, is a board member of Sustainability Alliance, and is on the Culinary Task Force. She is also in the Bonner Leader program, a percussionist for the wind ensemble, and a member of the plant science alliance. Sophie loves working at the CSB Sustainability Office because the three pillars of sustainability permeate every aspect of her life; from the products she buys, the waste she produces, and the social movements she supports, every action should promote a sustainable future. She loves her specific position because it allows her to bridge the gap between the St. Joseph community and our campus.

Margeaux Pederson

Margeaux Pederson '21
Campus Operations Assistant

Margeaux is an Environemntal Studies major from Minneapolis, Minnesota. She is Director of Second-Years for RHA (Residence Hall Association), on the Root Team of the Full Circle Greenhouse, a member of Climate Action Club, and she will be part of the CSB/SJU delegation attending the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in Poland. Margeaux works in the CSB Sustainability Office because she wants to actively impact and improve the campus for the entire Bennie community, as well as help save the planet and reduce humanity's footprint to promote individual, community, and environmental health.

Makaela Turner '21
Marketing and Communications Assistant

Makaela is a Political Science major from Ramsey, Minnesota. She is a member of the Eugene J. McCarthy Center for Public Policy and Civic Engagement, a volunteer at the Community Kitchen, and a participant of the 2020 Washington, D.C. Summer Internship Program. She works at the CSB Sustainability Office because she wants to be an advocate for environmental issues on campus and educate others on how to be sustainable in their daily life as well as gain knowledge and experience working on environmentally-focused initiatives that benefit the community.


Betsy Ruckman '23
Zero Waste Assistant

Betsy Ruckman is our newest addition to the office! Betsy is a first-year and hasn’t formally declared a major yet, but she likes Environmental Studies for its multidisciplinary coursework. She is from Monticello, Illinois, where she loves making dirt pies and painting the claws of her chickens, Florence, Cameo, Laverne, Shirley, Princess, Bonnie, Blondie, and Ivory. Betsy has a love for the earth, even if that means confronting the less pretty aspects of our presence on it. She’s excited to fight all kinds of wasteful behavior on our campus! She is part of Climate Justice Club, Sustainability Alliance, HPAC, and Ballroom Dance Club. You can find Betsy in Mary Commons 139, in a dumpster outside McGlynns conducting a waste audit, or roaming Gorecki Dining Hall asking ever-so-politely, “Are you going to eat that?”

The CSB Sustainability Council

The Sustainability Council is a group of faculty, staff, students, monastics, and community members that serves as an advisory group to the Sustainability Office and the President's Office. The Council meets monthly during the academic year, and meetings are open for all members of the CSB/SJU community to attend.

Please contact the CSB Sustainability Office if you would like to present to the Council.

CSB Sustainability Council Members

Julia Abell '20, Programming Assistant, Sustainability Office

Rachel Brodeur, Sustainability Coordinator, Sustainability Office

Crystal Diaz '22, St. Ben's Senate Sustainability Representative

Sophie Buysse '20, Community Engagement Assistant, Sustainability Office

Makaela Turner '21, Marketing and Communications Assistant, Sustainability Office

Margeaux Pederson '21, Campus Operations Assistant, Sustainability Office

Betsy Ruckman '23, Zero Waste Assistant, Sustainability Office

Kathryn Enke, Chief of Staff, President's Office

Alexa Evenson, Associate Professor, Art

Ryan Gideon, Executive Director, Facilities Management

Corrie Grosse, Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies

Emily Heying, Assistant Professor, Nutrition

Derek Larson, Professor and Chair, Environmental Studies

Chad Marolf, Senior Principal Gifts Officer, Institutional Advancement

Sue Palmer, Vice President of Finance and Administration, Business Office

Kathleen Parker, Director, Libraries

Phil Paulson, Culinary Chef, Culinary Services

Margeaux Pederson '21, Campus Operations Assistant, Sustainability Office

Kim Poganski, Director, Culinary Services

Jordan Salinsky, Residence Director, Residential Life

Sister Philip Zimmer, Order of Saint Benedict