DigiKey Programming Contest 2010

Student programmers place second

A team of CSB/SJU student programmers, accompanied by Dr. Lynn Ziegler, placed second in the  annual Digi-Key Collegiate Computing Competition (DKC3 - 2010) hosted by Digi-Key Corporation in Thief River Falls, Minn. The team of Jonathon Walz, Tony Ohmann, Joe Meyer, and Cong Van and coached by Dr. Imad Rahal competed in a pool of 18 teams from the following universities: Bemidji State University, North Dakota State University, St. Cloud State University, University of Minnesota - Duluth, University of Minnesota - Morris, University of North Dakota, Concordia College, Minot State University, Dickinson State University and CSB/SJU.  Each CSB/SJU student of the winning team received a $200 Best Buy gift card, along with a $3,000 prize for the computer science department. The department will use the money to fund future trips to similar contests. This is CSB/SJU's second participation in the DKC3 programming contest. In 2009, two teams placed third and fourth.  

(Oct. 25, 2010)