2015 Students Awards

American Institute of Chemists Award

Erica Sinner

Alex Frie

This award is presented to an outstanding senior from each school who has a demonstrated record of ability, leadership and shows professional promise in the field of chemistry or biochemistry. The award consists of a certificate and a one-year membership in the American Institute of Chemists.

Distinguished Service Award

Emmanuel Freeman

Brianne Gibson

This award is presented annually to CSB or SJU senior who has contributed to the department in some aspect of service. Their name is placed on a plaque in the Ardolf Science Center.


Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

Zachary Brown

Haley Chatelaine

This award is presented annually to juniors who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the analytical chemistry sequence. The award consists of an eight-month subscription to the journal Analytical Chemistry and an eight-month honorary membership in the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society.

ACS Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry

Autumn Flynn

This award is present to a Senior Chemistry or Biochemistry major who display a particular aptitude in organic chemistry.

Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry 

Carmen Probst
Levi Salzl

This award is presented annually to seniors to recognize achievement by undergraduate students in Inorganic Chemistry and to encourage further study in the field.   

Glen Arth Award

Adrian Demeritte

Glen Arth graduated from Saint John's University with a bachelor's degree in chemistry in 1933. He then attended the University of Colorado where he obtained a master's degree in chemistry. He went to work for the pharmaceutical company, Merck, Sharpe & Dohme, where he worked until his death in September 1975. Glen Arth made many important contributions in the synthesis and biochemistry of steroids. Notable among his accomplishments was his participation in the synthesis of cortisone.

In 1976 Glen Arth's friends and coworkers at Merck, Sharpe & Dohme established the Glen Arth scholarship in his memory. Annually this $750 award is given to an outstanding Saint John's University junior chemistry major.

Sister Rogatia Sohler Award

Hieu Van

Sister Rogatia Sohler graduated brom the College of Saint Benedict with a Bachelor's degree in chemistry in 1932. Following graduation from CSB, she went to Marquette University from which she obtained a Master's degree in organic chemistry. In 1933, she began teaching chemistry at CSB where she taught until her retirement in 1973. Sister Rogatia died at the age of 90 in September 1992.

Sixteen years ago the Chemistry Department established an award in her name. The family of Dr. William Muldoon established an academic scholarship for this award. The $750 award is given annually to an outstanding College of Saint Benedict junior chemistry major.

Abbot John Klassen Summer Research Award

Clare Johnston

Asha Kopp

This award is presented annually to a students who conducts outstanding research at CSB/SJU in the summer.

Father Matthew Kiess Award

Emmanuela Bonglack

Father Matthew Kiess was a master teacher and excellent experimental chemist. He was instrumental in leading the fund drive that led to the construction of the science center on the Saint John's campus in 1964-65. The $1000 scholarship in his name is awarded to a CSB or SJU sophomore or junior has shown outstanding skill, effort and accomplishment in the laboratory.

Richard L. Jochman Scholarship for Achievement in Organic Chemistry

Claire Buysse

Thomas OʼToole

This award was established by Dr. Paul Zenk, an SJU alum, in memory of Dr. Jochman to recognize outstanding achievement in organic chemistry.

Department Award for Distinction in Chemical Reactivity 

Emmanuela Bonglack, Sarah Clark, Adam McVey, Luke Morrey, Catherine Pettinger, Scott Echternacht, Ryan Johnson, Faith Kersey-Bronec, and Raymond Twumasi

Given to students who have demonstrated excellent achievement in our three reactivity courses, CHEM 250, 251, and 315.


CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award

Bridget Ebert, Hannah Holst, Annette Klomp, Anna Rahrick, Brandon Thauwald, and Samantha Tinuccin

This award recognizes outstanding achievement in first year chemistry. The awardees receive a copy of the CRC Handbook of Physics and Chemistry.


Department Award for Distinction in First Year Chemistry 

Jaclyn Bautch, Matthew Burgstahler, Simone Creed, Alexandria Daggett, Jordan Danielson, Jack Fiecke, Stephanie Jean, Jenna Lee, Grant Olson, Riley Swenson, and Madison Victorian

This award recognizes excellence in achievement in first year chemistry.