Program Faculty

Joseph R. Des Jardins, Professor of Philosophy

Professor Des Jardins has his B.A. from Southern Connecticut State University, and M.A. and PhD from the University of Notre Dame in ethics. He joined CSB/SJU in 1990 after four years at Villanova University; appointed Professor in 1993; Department Chair, 1995-2000. Courses include Business Ethics, Environmental Ethics, Ethics and Public Policy. Has four books, two on environmental ethics and two on business ethics; editor of CNN Today: Ethics Volume IV, Business Ethics which was co-produced by CNN and International Thomson Publishing; more than 26 professional articles and reviews; serves as the editor of Newsletter of the Society for Business Ethics (1997-present); co-founder and editor of Journal of Peace and Justice Studies (1987-90); his most recent paper was “Good Food or Just Food? Distinguishing the Right from the Good in an Ethics of Food”, University of Tennessee. 

Paul A. Marsnik, Associate Professor of Management

Professor Marsnik has his B.A. from Saint John’s University, and M.A. and PhD from the University of Nebraska in Organizational Behavior. After launching and operating a construction business for ten years, he joined CSB/SJU in 1994. Courses include Management and Organizational Behavior, Entrepreneurship, Business Ethics, Creativity and Innovation in Organizations and Introduction to Management. He is certified to administer a number of personality instruments including Meyers Briggs Type Indicator, Herrmann Brain Dominance Inventory, and Kirton Adaption-Innovation Inventory.  He has been the faculty advisor to Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE) since 1997, a member of the Advisory Committee, Donald McNeely Center for Entrepreneurship at CSB/SJU and the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship.  

Jane McGurn Kathman, Professor of Management

Professor Kathman has her B.A. from Barat College, M.A. from DePaul University and M.B.A. from Illinois Institute of Technology. She joined the College of Saint Benedict/Saint John’s University faculty in 1979; appointed Professor in 1992; Department Chair, 2003. Teaches a range of courses including Organizational Behavior, Women and Management, Principles of Management, Strategic Marketing and Organizational Integrity. Designed and implemented Organizational Leadership Program, a collaborative learning simulation for senior management majors. Served on numerous faculty committees; was Bahamian Student Advisor; received many faculty development awards including “Post Program Review: Revision of the Management Curriculum”; awarded several advisor of the year awards; authored a number of publications focused on student performance, including: “Training Student Employees for Quality Service,” The Journal of Academic Librarianship and led various panels and workshops, the latest: “The Ethics of Accountable Leadership,” European Business Ethics Network, Cambridge, England, with Professor Regina Wolfe, another principal in this effort.

Kaarin S. Johnson, Professor of Theater and Divisional Coordinator for the Fine Arts

Professor Johnson earned her B.A. from Cornell College, M.A. at the University of South Dakota and PhD, Southern Illinois University in theater. Joined CSB/SJU in 1985; appointed Professor 1995; Department Chair, 1994-1998. Courses include Theater Management, Public Speaking and Senior Seminar (ethics). She has a number of honors including a faculty development grant to attend the Holocaust Institute in Jerusalem; faculty study grant in China; Kellogg Leadership Award; and National Endowment for the Humanities Research Fellow. She has served on numerous faculty committees, presented papers at regional and national meetings, served as a consultant to many nonprofit theater companies; published articles, plays and poems; directed more than 50 college and university plays, 18 community/summer theater experiences and another 22 plays for young audiences. She is a member of the Association for Asian Performance and Women and Theatre Focus Group.

Ernie Diedrich, Professor of Economics and Environmental Studies