2023 Scholarship Ceremony

On April 25, 2023, our department held its annual scholarship awards ceremony. This year, scholarships totaling a record $114,400 were given to 36 students!

These scholarships are possible due to contributions from generous alumni and organizations.

To be considered for a scholarship, students must demonstrate high academic achievement and involvement in activities or the community.

During the ceremony, scholarships were presented by current accounting and finance professors, as well as alumni and other representatives from several organizations that provided scholarships. We also enjoyed remarks from 1995 Johnnie grad Tom Roos, who presented the first-ever Roos Scholarships.

Below is a listing of the scholarships and recipients.

scholarship winners

Students at the 2023 Accounting and Finance Department Scholarship Ceremony!



Thomas Roos Scholarship

  • Nate Loxtercamp
  • Lauren Dohmen


  • Anna Streed
  • Sanders Asplin
  • Zach Frank
  • Logan Simones
  • Conor Murphy
  • Rose Michaelis

Professor Emeritus Thomas J. Murray Endowment Fund

  • Logan Hennen
  • Andrew Adams
  • Ryan Janzen
  • Oscar Hrabe


  • Sydney Rohrer
  • Cole Brown

CSB Accounting and Finance

  • Abigail Willenbring
  • Caroline Kitchen

John P. Fitzgerald Memorial

  • Jerry Patterson
  • Teddy Muetzel
  • Spencer Sansevere


  • Kaylee Jurek
  • Sophia Jonas

Minnesota Society of CPAs

  • Lloyd Young
  • Sam Novotny
  • Bryn Carlstrom

Deloitte Scholarship

  • Luke Casanova
  • Lauren Pfeffer
  • Hayden Sanders

Charles E. Merrill

  • Will Wooden
  • Ryan Engel

Mid-State Chapter of Minnesota Society of CPAs

  • Kaylee Ringstad
  • Lauren Schuler

Tom and Ann Bastian Accounting Scholarship

  • Emanuel Popoca


  • Mark Rosen
  • Arlette Lazaro

Construction Finance Management Association

  • Charlie Bills
  • Madison Kubik