Please update your web browser or disable Compatibility View.

Godfrey Diekmann Lecture

Bookmark and Share

April 8, 2013

2013 Godfrey Diekmann Lecture - Rita Ferrone

In what does the unity of the Roman Rite consist?  Fifty years after the promulgation of the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy, some assert that this unity is textual, and therefore they regard exact correspondence of vernacular texts with a Latin original as essential to believed, textual unity was not what the fathers of the council chiefly had in mind when they made the landmark decision to opt for the expression "substantial unity."  We will examine the shift that has taken place between the Second Vatican Council and today in interpreting the Constitution on this point, and argue that the lasting unity of the Roman Rite is best founded on the concept of paschal mystery, the hidden theological treasure of the liturgical reform.

Godfrey Diekmann Lecture Series

Father Godfrey Diekmann The Godfrey Diekmann, OSB Center for Patristics and Liturgical Studies was created to honor the life and work of Godfrey Diekmann, OSB (1908-2002), one of the 46 theologians chosen from around the world to prepare the schema on liturgy during Vatican II.  A lifetime Minnesota resident, Father Diekmann entered Saint John's Abbey at the age of 17 in 1929.  He taught theology at Saint John's University for 65 years before retiring in 1998.

"With his immense scholarship and vision, his ample faith and generous heart, Father Godfrey has put Collegeville on the international map and made Saint John's synonymous with serious study of patristics and liturgy-conducted always in a faith-filled, prayerful and deeply personal way," stated Saint John's President, Br. Dietrich Reinhart, OSB, at the inauguration of the Diekmann Center in March 1997.

The Diekmann Center seeks to deepen contemporary understanding of the early Christian theologians of the first through seventh centuries A.D.  Their vision of the Christian life is explored through research and educational endeavors including a public lecture series and seminars for students, scholars and pastoral ministers. The Diekmann Center promotes theological learning that engages both the mind and the heart.  The wisdom of the early Christian writers bears witness that the study of theology must be steeped in prayer and reflection within a community of learners.

Past presenters in Diekmann Lecture Series have included:

2009    Msgr. Bruce Harbert

2007    Robin M. Jensen

2006    Bishop Donald Trautman

2005    Rev. Maxwell Johnson, Ph.D.

2004    Dr. Nathan D. Mitchell

2003    Fr. John Baldovin, SJ

2002    Dr. Gordon Lathrop

2000    Dr. Geoffrey Wainwright; Dr. Eamon Duffy

1999    Fr. Gerard Austin, OP; Fr. Godfrey Diekmann, OSB; Fr. Walter Burghardt, SJ

1998    R. William Franklin; Don Saliers

1997    Frederick McManus; S. Kathleen Hughes, RSCJ; Fr. Andrew Greeley; Dr. Jaroslav Pelikan