Please update your web browser or disable Compatibility View.

Caritas - Man of Extraordinary Service Award


The Caritas Man of Extraordinary Service Award was created through the generosity of an anonymous donor to honor Saint John's undergraduate men who have demonstrated their dedication to serving others both at CSB/SJU and/or in the local community. These men show a commitment to society through an active participation in student leadership, civic leadership and social leadership. They are or have been actively involved with service organizations, student activities, and/or academic services.

The Awards

Typically each  year one First Year Johnnie, one Sophomore Johnnie, one Junior Johnnie, and one Senior Johnnie will be chosen to receive this award. Each Man of Extraordinary Service will receive a $2,500 scholarship for their demonstrated commitment to service.  Note:  Students may only receive this award once during their time at SJU.

The Selection Process

Early in the spring semester, a call for nominations is issued to CSB/SJU students, staff, and faculty.  SJU undergraduate students may nominate themselves but will also need to submit a Letter of Recommendation from a member of the CSB/SJU faculty, staff, and/or peer.

In determining the recipients of this award, the Caritas Awards Committee considers the following:

  1. Dedication to serving others both at CSB/SJU and/or the  local community
  2. Commitment to society through an active participation in student leadership, civic leadership and social leadership, i.e. SJU Senate, Service Learning experience
  3. Current or past activity with service organizations, student activities, and/or academic services, i.e. club officer/member, team captain, student worker.

After being nominated, the students will be required to write one  300 - 700 word essay collectively answering the following two questions:

  1. What is your understanding of the Benedictine character of Saint John's University and Abbey?
  2. How have you exemplified this character in your giving of service during your time at Saint John's?

Nominees must also submit a copy of their résumé.  For self-nominations, you will need to submit a Letter of Support from a staff or faculty member in the CSB/SJU Community.


2016 Recipients

Pictured:  Abbot John Klassen, OSB, Abdirizak Jama, Frantz Soiro, Ramond Mitchell, Peter Johnson, and Dr. Michael Hemesath

Peter Johnson, First Year Class
Abdirizak Jama, Sophomore Class
Ramond Mitchell, Junior Class
Frantz Soiro, Senior Class


2015 Recipients

Lukas Steffensmeier
Matthew Fink
Jake Barrientos
Austin Barkley

2014 Recipients

Kevin Curwick
Jake Collins
Jesse Wild
Brian Vander Heiden

2013 Recipients

Edwin Torres
Justin Markon
Connor Klausing
Stephen Gross 

2012 Recipients

Chris Heitzig
Andy Hovel
Carlos Dabu
Will Newkirk

Links and Timeline

Nomination Form (Available January 2017)

Application Form (Available January 2017)


Nominations due:  Monday, February  2017

Applications due:   Monday, February 2017 

Recipients notified/announced:  Friday, March 2017 

Awards Banquet:  April 2017