John E. Robson Scholarship for CSB Students of Public Policy

Application Information for John E. Robson Scholarship for CSB Students of Public Policy

Scholarship Purpose: The John E. Robson Scholarship for Students of Public Policy was established in 2002 by Margaret Zuehlke Robson in memory of her husband, John. John’s life was a model of personal political engagement—the cornerstone of citizenship. Having served under four Presidents of the United States and having been enmeshed in many aspects of public policy, this scholarship serves as a legacy of John’s life’s work. It is hoped this scholarship will continue to inspire students at the College of Saint Benedict to become involved in public policy in order to produce societal change.

Scholarship Criteria: Eligible applicants must be current College of Saint Benedict sophomores or juniors majoring or intending to major in Economics, Sociology or Political Science. Applicants must have taken at least one course from two of these departments: Economics, Political Science or Sociology. Students must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25. Scholarship recipients will be selected based on the following:

  1. Academic excellence and achievement with an integrated course-load outside her major including, but not limited to: Political Science, Sociology, Economics, Math, and Philosophy.
  2. Engagement in the literature of public policy
  3. Engagement in political activities on campus.
  4. Superior writing and speaking skills.
  5. Passion and dedication to making social change

Students must submit an application which includes a “Public Policy Proposal” of no more than 1500 words. Finalists for the scholarship will be interviewed by the Scholarship Committee. For additional information on this scholarship and to receive a copy of the application form, please contact the Political Science Department Office Manager at x2731.

Scholarship Amount: The Scholarship Committee will award 2-4 scholarships per year. Scholarships will range in value from $2,500 to $5,000. The scholarship is for one year. Scholarship recipients may re-apply for one additional year (will need to submit a new application form and recommendation letters; a new public policy proposal will not be required).

Application Deadline: Applications are typically due at the end of March. Contact the Political Science Department Office Manager (x2731) to confirm the application deadline.

Scholarship recipients will be announced in late April.