Students honored at Inspiring Leadership Banquet

Bookmark and Share

April 29, 2010

Back row left to right: Mike Connolly, Ashley Sinnen, Eric DeLuca, Matthew Daley, David Massey, Jacob Haider, Kevin Kirwin, Father Doug Mullin, OSB, BernaDette W. Suwareh

Front row left to right: Jody Terhaar, Susan Chhen, Kristal Sawatzke, Colleen Smith, Kamau Joseph, Amy Marshall, Ashley Ver Burg, Heather Cederholm, Carrie Vandelac, Vice President Mary Geller, CSB

Left to right: Colleen Smith, Eric DeLuca, David Massey, Kristal Sawatzke, Matthew Daley

Twelve students from the College of Saint Benedict, St. Joseph, and Saint John's University, Collegeville, were honored for their exemplary leadership at the 2010 Inspiring Leaders Recognition Banquet April 18 at Guild Hall. SJU.

The event, sponsored by the Student Activities and Leadership Development Program, was attended by more than 270 people, including students, parents, faculty, staff and members of the monastic communities.

The 2010 "Excellence in Leadership Award" was presented to SJU senior Matt Daley. He is an English major from Mankato, Minn.

Daley also shared the "Encourage the Heart" award with CSB senior Colleen Smith (communication major, Nemaha,, Iowa). This category recognizes leaders who continually encourage one another for their progress and value.

The "Emerging Leader" awards were presented to SJU junior Kamau Joseph (Diego Martin, Trinidad and Togabo) and CSB junior Carrie Vandelac (gender and women's studies major, Oakdale, Minn.). The Emerging Leader award recognizes the leadership efforts of students who have taken an active role in creating positive change on our campus and have not yet entered their final year in school.

The "Model the Way" award went to SJU seniors Jacob Haider (political science major, Forest Lake, Minn.) and David Massey (biology major, Fridley, Minn.). It is the leadership category that recognizes individuals who set the standard for leadership, based on integrity and respect.

The "Challenge the Process" award were presented to CSB senior Heather Cederholm (political science major, Rochester, Minn.) and SJU senior Kevin Kirwin (computer science and management major, Lino Lakes, Minn.). This award is the leadership category based on seeking improvement.

The "Inspire a Shared Vision" award was presented to SJU senior Eric DeLuca (environmental studies and peace studies major, Loretto, Minn.) and CSB senior Amy Marschall (psychology and philosophy major, Lakeville, Minn.). It is the leadership category that recognizes individual seeking an uplifting futures and accepting all possibilities.

The "Enable Others to Act" award was presented to CSB senior Ashley Ver Burg (environmental studies major, River Falls, Wis.) and CSB senior Kristal Sawatzke (communication major, Annandale, Minn.). This category is for leaders who follow a process in which the strengths of the team members are recognized.

There were 68 nominees for the awards, which are based on Benedictine values and the leadership model developed in the book, "The Leadership Challenge: Five Principles of Exemplary Leadership" by James Kouzes and Barry Posner. This was the highest number of nominees in the history of the awards.

In addition to the awards, a total of 162 Certificates of Leadership were distributed. This is the highest number of certificates awarded in the four-year history of the Inspiring Leadership Certificate Program.

Also recognized at the banquet were the 2010 Club of the Year, Up 'Til Dawn, and Adviser of the Year BernaDette Wilson Suwareh who advises the Cultural Affairs Board. Other Club of the Year nominees were the Fishing Club and Magis. Other Advisers of the Year nominees were Marcia Hilbert, CSB director of campus recreation and adviser to the CSB Dance Team; and Ronald Pagnucco, peace studies chair and adviser to Amnesty International.