Faculty

Christopher Bolin
Instructor
M.F.A. University of Iowa
Fields: Contemporary Lyric Poetry, Fiction of the American West, Experiential Learning in Creative Writing, Medical Humanities
cbolin@csbsju.edu

Luke Mancuso, OSB
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Iowa
Fields: Critical Theory, Cultural Studies, American Literature and Culture 1914, American Cosmopolitanism and Regionalism to 1900, Walt Whitman Studies.
lmancuso@csbsju.edu

Matthew Callahan
Instructor
M.F.A. University of Alaska, Anchorage
Fields: Contemporary Fiction and Nonfiction, Modern Memoir, Creative Writing, Wilderness Ethics, Literature of the North
mcallahan@csbsju.edu

Rachel Marston

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Utah
Fields: Creative Writing (Fiction/NonFiction), Narrative Theory and Practice, The Novel, Modernist and Postmodernist Fiction
rmarston@csbsju.edu 

Jessica Harkins
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Washington University, St. Louis
Fields:Creative Writing, Poetry, Medieval Literature, Translation Studies
jharkins@csbsju.edu

Madhu Mitra
Professor

Ph.D. Kent State University
Fields: Postcolonial Theory and Literature, Eighteenth-Century British Literature, Women's Literature (Africa, the Caribbean, South Asia), Literature and Globalization
mmitra@csbsju.edu

Matthew Harkins, Department Chair
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Washington University, St. Louis
Fields: Shakespeare, Marvell, Milton, Seventeenth-Century Poetry, Early Modern Theories of Youth and Age, Gender Studies, Modern Irish Literature
mharkins@csbsju.edu

Jane Opitz
Director, Writing Center
jopitz@csbsju.edu

Elizabeth Johnson-Miller
Instructor

M.F.A.Bennington College
Fields: Poetry, Non-Fiction, Memoir, Interpersonal and Group Communication
ejohnsonmil@csbsju.edu

Michael J. Opitz
Professor
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
Fields: Modern British Literature, Poetry, Critical Theory, Cultural Studies, Film Studies, Aesthetics, Poetry and Popular Culture, Music Recording and Production
mnopitz@csbsju.edu

John Kendall
Instructor
B.A., Hamline University, 1986

M.A., St. Cloud University, 1993
Fields: Business Writing, Creative Non-Fiction/Essay Writing, Playwriting, Science Fiction, Apocalyptic Literature
jkendall@csbsju.edu

Yvette Piggush
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Chicago
Fields: Early American Literature, Nineteenth-Century American Literature, Historical Fiction, Material and Visual Culture
ypiggush@csbsju.edu 

Cindy Malone
Professor
Ph.D. Boston University
Fields:19th-century British Literature, Theory and History of the Novel, Book Arts, Publishing
cmalone@csbsju.edu

Christina Tourino
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Duke University
Fields: Race and Ethnicity in US Literature, Literary Theory, Feminist Theory, Comparative Literature of the Americas, American Music and Literature
ctourino@csbsju.edu

Lori Moe
Administrative Assistant
lmoe@csbsju.edu

 

 

Faculty Emerti

  • Angeline Dufner
  • J. P. Earls, OSB
  • Mara Faulkner, OSB
  • Ozzie Mayers
  • Hilary Thimmesh, OSB