College of Saint Benedict Marie and Robert Jackson Fellows Program


Our Mission

To empower students with opportunities to serve the common good through community engagement, collective learning, and leadership and professional development.

The Jackson Fellows Story

In 2008, the College of Saint Benedict received an anonymous gift to establish the Marie and Robert Jackson Fellows Program. Nine students with varying majors, interests, and experience are selected through an application and interview process to be part of a cohort of Jackson Fellows. Each Fellow serves at a community site for the summer. All nine fellowships involve civic engagement and work devoted to improving community life through political or non-political service activities. The diversity of the site placements and the type of work and leadership required from each Jackson Fellow serves to create a rich, vibrant, and holistic learning environment. 

Now accepting applications for the 2015 cohort!

2014 Cohort 

Left to Right: Marah Jacobson-Schulte, Chendan Yan, Ashleigh Walter, Biruk Zekewos, Mariya Lawinger, Sarah Evans, Ellen Black, Kaileigh Nicklas, Mary Gilbertson, Peggy Yang, Austin Barkley, & Matt Lindstrom

Site Service:

Austin Barkley - Anna Marie's Alliance

Ellen Black - Children's Dental Services

Sarah Evans - Will Steger Foundation and Homestead

Mary Gilbertson - Office Of Senator Al Franken

Mariya Lawinger - Children's Theatre Company

Kaileigh Nicklas - Children's Museum of South Dakota

Ashleigh Walter - West Side Community Organization

Chendan Yan - Center for Earth and Democracy

Peggy Yang - Northwest Hennepin Human Services Council

Biruk Zekewos - United Living Community